Friday, 12 February 2016

Three way contest for Brampton council seat

Overall voters in 17 of the 52 wards are going to the polls on May 3 in a ballot that has the potential to change control of the authority, led by the Conservatives and Liberal Democrats.

The candidates for the Brampton wards are: 

  • Graham Barlett (Lab)
  • Christian Matthew Forster (UKIP)
  • Steve Layden (Con)

The full list of nominations also reveals a return to the city political foray for Judith Pattinson, a former city councillor and current chair of Brampton parish council. She left the city council in July 2004 to concentrate on finding a parliamentary seat. She failed to be selected for Carlisle but has stood as the Workington Conservative candidate in recent years.

Another familiar face is Elsie Martlew, wife of former MP Eric, who is standing for Labour in the Castle ward.

The BNP is fielding one candidate – Stephen Bingham – in Currock, a ward where Brent Kennedy is standing for the Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts.

The Green Party is represented in 10 wards, as is UKIP. The Liberal Democrats are standing in eight wards and two wards have Independent candidates, including former mayor William Graham, in Hayton.

Labour is the largest party on the hung council with 24 councillors.

A net gain of two would ensure they take control, ending 13 years of control by the Conservatives and their Liberal Democrat allies.

The Tories and Lib Dems will be defending four marginal seats.


Candidates in other wards....

Ian Brewis (Green)
Andrew Hill (UKIP)
David Morton (Con)
Kevin Parker (Lab)

Belle Vue
Mike Clarke (Con)
Richard Hunt (Green)
Terrence Jones (Lib Dem)
Les Tickner (Lab)

Lynn Juliet Bates (Green)
Michael Boaden (Lab)
Shaidat Danmole-Ellis (Con)
Mike Middlemore (Ind)
Ivan Strong (UKIP)

Neil Boothman (Green)
Elsie Martlew (Lab)
Kevin Reynolds (Con)
Ian Walker (Lib Dem)

Stephen Bingham (BNP)
Colin Glover (Lab)
Stephen Higgs (Con)
Brent Kennedy (Trade Unionists and Socialists against cuts)

Trevor Allison (Lib Dem)
Robert Dickinson ( UKIP)
Michael Randall (Con)
Sandra Gill Warwick (Lab)

Denton Holme
Barbara Eden (Con)
Joan Southward (Lab)
James Liam Tucker (Green)
John Duncan Warmingham (UKIP)
David John Wood (Lib Dem)

Great Corby and Geltsdale
Beth Furneaux (Lab)
Doreen Parsons (Con)

Dallas Brewis (Green)
Hannah Dolan (Con)
Michael Gee (Lib Dem)
Edward Haughan (UKIP)
Lee Barbara Sherriff (Lab)

Harry Newton Cain (Con)
William James Graham (Ind)
Michael John Owen (UKIP)

Arnold Bell Blythe (UKIP)
Gillian Curwen (Green)
Lawrence Fisher (Con)
Peter Noble (Lib Dem)
Elaine Mary Stephenson (Lab)

St Aidans
Robert Andrew Cakans (UKIP)
Christine Finlayson (Con)
Lucy Patrick (Lab)
John Reardon (Green)

Stanwix urban
Helen Davison (Green)
Paul Nedved (Con)
Grant Christopher Warwick (Lab)
Carol Weaver (UKIP)

Donald Stewart Cape (Lab)
James Osler (Lib Dem)
Judith Pattinson (Con)

Michael Brader (Green)
Barry Earp (Con)
Roger Horne (Lab)
Geoff Round (UKIP)

Deborah Clode (Lib Dem)
Karen Gallagher (Lab)
Hazel Jane Graham (Green)
Fiona Robson (Con)


Hot jobs
Brampton Local

Promote Your Page Too